top of page
Stay In The Know:

Interview Marissa Hermer


New Year ..New Concept!

Fancy Kids team are planning to keep you inspired and informed in 2016. We will be posting weekly interviews with bloggers, mommies, future to be mommies, women that made a statement in the world of arts, business as well as entrepreneurs and why not, a less popular category but very much present in a child's life, the daddies.

This week lets meet a very inspirational lady, Marissa Hermer. Marissa is an american London based mom of two lovely boys, who is currently waiting for her third child. She is the brilliant co-founder of Top Dog, an authenthic American eatery in the heart of Soho and last but not least, she is a star in the great Ladies of London TV show!



1. You are a mummy of two lovely boys, pregnant with your third child, running a family business and a TV Star...

Tell us your secret to manage everything?


Oh goodness - there isn’t any balance. I actually don’t like the idea of ‘balancing’ as it makes me feel like I’m walking a tightrope between being a mother and running a business. The secret is being willing to make sacrifices - and also realising that the sacrifices that I’m willing to make are different than the sacrifices someone else is willing to make - and being okay with that. I’ve learned that I can’t do everything perfectly. I cannot be in the office all day or jumping from Top Dog to Bumpkin AND also with the children at their music classes and taking them to their playdates. I’ve learned to be happy with the best that I can do - it might not be the ‘BEST’ but it is the best that I can manage - and ultimately if my children are happy and thriving (they are) and my husband and I have our own time (it is a priority for us and it keeps me sane!), then everything else might not be perfect but it is okay.


2. During your pregnancy days what's your most common food craving or most unusual craving?


When I was pregnant with Max and Jake, I craved hot dogs - which is ultimately why I ended up opening Top Dog as I missed my childhood American hot dogs and I couldn’t find one in London to satisfy my cravings. Of course, with this pregnancy, I’m at Top Dog EATING hot dogs all the time so it is hardly a craving anymore - I’m certainly getting my fill. I miss New York fresh-baked bagels which I can’t get here and drives me mad!

3. Tell us a funny "guess what my kids did”

My family comes from America to celebrate the holidays with us in London - and this year, when my parents were leaving, my eldest son woke up early and dressed himself and packed a suitcase so he could go back to California with his Omi and Opa. (Pretty cute) - to be honest, we ALL wanted to pack suitcases and go back to California but sadly will have to wait for the summer.

4. Favourite thing about being a mum?

Discovering a new love that I never new existed - that and falling more in love with my husband as I see him be the most amazing Father.

5. Your best activities do to with kids in London?


We love going to Battersea Park Zoo on a Sunday morning and Sunday afternoons for family dimsum, which is so short and easy AND when we make a mess no one shouts at us!

6. What would be your best advice to plan a nice kids parties?

Friends ask me this all the time so I actually wrote a piece about it: http://marissahermer.com/planning-kids-parties-without-the-panic/

Less is more on the invitation list - it is about inviting your children’s friends - it isn’t a social event for you. My children always have the best time when it is a smaller group. AND if you can, hire a photographer or put a friend in charge of taking pictures - as then you can enjoy the party with your munchkin on his/her special day - without worrying about capturing the memories (someone else is doing it for you!)

7. If you had to pick up two outfits from Fancy Kids, what would you choose?


I love the LIVLY hat for my kiddies (and sometimes I nab it to wear myself!) and I love the Easy Peasy winter booties.


8. Could you give us your best recipe for your little ones?


LASAGNE! My family requests this all the time – and I usually have a few lasagna slices tucked away in the freezer for an even quicker fix. I usually like to serve with a simple green salad and garlic bread

Thank you, Marissa!

If you want to know more about Marissa:

Follow her on Instagram


Comments


bottom of page