top of page
Stay In The Know:

Interview with Viktoria Rader

Ukrainian born Viktoria Rader is a model, mother, blogger and head of her own leather label VIRA. Now based in Munich, Viktoria travels frequently as part of her work, but while she does that she updates the readers of her blog VikyAndTheKid on the fine balance between her passions of travel, motherhood and fashion.

You're a mother of a lovely boy, you're pregnant with your second child, you're a mother, a blogger and head of your own label VIRA...what's your secret to manage your time between motherhood and careers?


Everybody asks me that question, and sometimes I wonder about it myself. But I think I am naturally inclined to do many things at once at high speed. It’s a gift of nature, I guess – I love to multi task. Sometimes I do too much, though, and have to force myself to take a step back. My day starts at 7 and ends around midnight, so it’s a lot to take on. I think it’s important for my family and me to take the weekends off, and just enjoy quiet family time. We also travel a lot so that I get to just relax then. Also my Mom is a huge help. She’s very much in love with Luca and she helps a lot. I don’t think I could do it without her.


You're also an ambassador for the fashion website Farfetch, could you give us some style tips for S/S 2016 ?


Yes, I love being an ambassador and working with the Farfetch team. There are some strong leading women in that company and its always inspiring to see women in key positions. Of course the brands that they represent are all to die for, so I’m very happy to be a part of that. For this summer I think there will be 5 key pieces all women will covet, and maybe I can give you a head start before it’s all sold out:

Blouses are the big leader of this summer: all shapes and sizes, not just one style. My favourite right now is the carmen-cut. Off the shoulders and very romantic. But there are some other cool versions, like boy-cuts and hippie blouses that were strongly presented by leading brands such as Chloe, Etro and Saint Laurent.

  • Blouses are the big leader of this summer: all shapes and sizes, not just one style. My favourite right now is the carmen-cut. Off the shoulders and very romantic. But there are some other cool versions, like boy-cuts and hippie blouses that were strongly presented by leading brands such as Chloe, Etro and Saint Laurent.

  • I can’t even begin to tell you how thrilled I am that the Pyjama look is back again. And they will not be overlooked this season: oversized shapes, strong prints and bold colours will be turning heads for sure.

  • Sleeper shoes are all the rave, and my summer shoe-crush. Gucci is ahead on those and an absolute must-have.

  • Good news: fringes are still a big add on to bags, shoes and clothes. How can you have a bad mood when your whole look is swinging every step of the way?


You're expecting your second child. What is your pregnancy beauty routine like?


Oh, that actually one of my favourite topics! Beauty and skin care is like meditation for me, that’s how I energize in the morning and wind down in the night. I drink unbelievable amounts of pregnancy detox tea, use many organic body oils and peeling as often as possible. All my products are natural without Paraben. The face masks I use are with Dead Sea extracts and minerals, and at night I put on a regenerating facial oil. Aesop is my favourite hair brand at the moment, I mix it with coconut oil and sometimes use Kerastase masks when I feel my hair getting dry. Beauty starts within, so I eat a lot of fruits, green smoothies and drink coconut water. I guess I’m a bit unusual for a pregnant woman, because I almost never have cravings. I guess I’m lucky.



Some recommendation to stay in shape while pregnant?


Everything I mention below is key to staying happy, healthy and fit during pregnancy. I really suggest doing yoga 2-3 times a week. It keeps you limber and calm while burning just the right amount of calories. Pregnancy massages help release water retention in my arms and legs, so I really love to go to those.

How do you like to relax?


Sun, sun, sun. Just sitting in the sun replenishes my system immensly. That paired with a good book, some music and the occasional swim, and I’m a happy camper.



Do you have a top spot to travel with your little one?


Oh many places! I think every country offer a great opportunity for both of us, but we Love going to South Italy. But also South Africa and Spain are our holiday favourites.



Your best recipe for your little boy?


Luca’s home-made smoothy : All sorts of berries mixed with natural yoghurt, a bit of honey and soya milk, of course banana and a bit of strawberry müsli. Blended into a smooth goo and eaten with gusto.

Thank you, Viktoria!

If you want to know more about Viktoria:

Follow her on Instagram


bottom of page