top of page
Stay In The Know:

Interview with Anne-Claire Petit



Anne-Claire Petit (Breda, The Netherlands, 1962) studied industrial design in Eindhoven, where she specialized in textile design. At the Academy she became interested in handicrafts such as printing, weaving and crochet. Her present style and collections still reflect her love for traditional craftsmanship. After finishing her studies, Anne-Claire began her career, in 1986, as a designer for Esprit. The four years at this international label prepared her for the plunge she took when starting her own company. Soon, Anne-Claire Petit Accessories, as she named it, became well-known for its shawls and other fashion accessories. Her unbridled creativity led to new products and techniques and a growing collection.

In 2002 Anne-Claire chose to shift her focus to a kids & home collection. Without the seasonal cycle of fashion, she feels free to create and to translate her love for colour and natural materials into a wide variety of items. As the objects became bigger and bolder over the course of time, this grew into two seperate lines: Anne-Claire Petit AccessoriesAccessoires, consisting of toys and playfull accessories and Anne-Claire Petit Home with its furniture and decorative objects for the home.

With all the love and energy put into the objects by her and by the women who do the handwork, Anne-Claire believes they are made to be cherished for a long time.


-What inspired you to start Anne-Claire Petit?


I started my own brand Anne-Claire Petit Accessoires in 1990. In the first years my collection consisted of shawls, socks, heads and bags for women. After 10 years I started to add the first kids items - a crochet cushion and a teddy bear. I wanted to do something different than fashion; I was tired of the pressure of designing a totally new collection every season and I wanted to make durable designs. I have always loved animals, their colours, shapes, and quirkiness. They were, and still are, a great source of inspiration. In 2002, after the great success of my first bear, I chose to shift my focus to a kid’s collection. Looking at today’s collection of more than 250 objects it is hard to believe that it all started with one single bear!


-How did you come with a crochet toys concept?


When I studied textile design I discovered the beauty and quality of handmade products and craftsmanship, so from the start of my own collection I employed craftsmen and -women that knew traditional textile techniques, such as embroidery, crochet, knitting and weaving. In the ‘90s this was not very ‘trendy’, fashion buyers often thought it was ‘cute’ and asked me if I made everything myself. Luckily, there was a growing group of like-minded customers that appreciated and understood my collection.


-What is your major influence?


Every season new items are added to the collection. For the design of new items I get inspired by daily things like a cute dog in the park or a woman passing in the street dressed in a good colour combination. Whenever I am awake and my eyes are open, I am drawn to things that intrigue me or that please me, anything really. Traveling helps too, I am on the road regularly. Any excuse will do to visit and discover a new place!


-Your toys are handmade, how much time does it take you to bring them to life?


The detail work of our collection is hand-crocheted by women living in countryside villages of Northern China. At the Amsterdam office (The Netherlands) we brainstorm ideas, choose color schemes and make final sketches. After putting the design on paper we send a first prototype to China where we have a team of crochet experts. These women create the first sample and the pattern for production. Once we agree on the final prototype the other women in the villages can start crocheting. To have an idea of the making of; a crochet fox takes around 8 hours, a big squirrel takes around 29 hours.





-What is your favourite toy from your collection?


I love the entire collection! But when I need to choose something I would go for the midi rabbit. I really like rabbits and this tough-looking one with his hands in the pockets has stolen my heart.


-Your collection is also really appreciated by adults that like to put them as a decoration in their living room, what is your favourite toy for grown-ups?


Our toys are enjoyed as much by kids as by grown-ups. They have something funny and recognizable and they bring about the same positive and cheerful reaction. For adults I would say the big lobster, which is definitely one of our best sellers.



-What are the requirements to be successful in the kid toys’ business?


There is a growing group of new parents - at least in the industrialised world - that eat, buy, live more conscious and prefer to buy one good piece that lasts over buying a range of disposable things for their kids. Another aspect that positively influences demand is the fact that my kid’s designs are not only for kids. Yes they are colourful and ‘cheerful’, but they also look good in the living room or anywhere else in the house. And as modern kids and their furniture and toys are no longer confined to their own specific playroom, parents are happy to pay a little extra for items that add a nice touch to their interior.


-Do you have any advice for someone who’d love to start their own business?


Do something you like! And stay close to your own ideas. In many ways my personal values determine the way I work. That might not always be the most lucrative way to run a business, but this way it gives me the most pleasure. Running your own business is great in that sense!


-What is your future project for your brand?


I hope I can continue doing what I do now. I hope to create many new products – especially more home deco items - and new cooperation’s with other designers, museums and companies.


Thank you, Anne-Claire Petit!

If you want to know more about the brand:

Follow the brand on Instagram


bottom of page